Hi there,

It's my first time posting on here, so apologies in advance if I'm breaking like a thousand rules here.

So over the past few days, I've been watching and following the (rather old now, but still useful) video tutorials on creating a custom third-person character and camera system with C#: (http://www.3dbuzz.com/training/view/...aracter-system). Of course, I had to make a few tweaks here and there to fit my game's needs, but everything more or less worked flawlessly until I reached the part about implementing the handling of camera occlusion, specifically this video: (http://www.3dbuzz.com/training/view/...implementation).

To be brief, the issue I'm experiencing is that as soon as I run the game, the camera zooms in extremely close to my character. It has not done this before I implemented occlusion handling, and if I commented out the occlusion handling, it would work just fine (except of course for the fact that it did not handle occlusion) - the camera would start a fair distance away from the character, and everything would work as normal. Furthermore, when I have the code for occlusion active, I cannot zoom out. The camera will instantly snap back to being up close to my character.

I have spent a considerable amount of time attempting to debug this, and I'm fairly certain that I've followed everything in the tutorial to a T, so I'm completely stumped as to what could have gone wrong. To be clear, I am not using the character or the level used in the tutorial - my character is a simple cylinder and my level is a flat surface. These should not be contributing factors to the problem as far as I know, especially since everything else has functioned perfectly up until this point.

Something strange I have noticed though is that the linecasts for detecting occlusion seem to penetrate through my character in an unexpected way, as pictured here: (Click image for larger version. 

Name:	974e89bc96284c9c8582a7e1d46576bc.png 
Views:	48 
Size:	279.6 KB